Library Guides: MEd / EdD: Graduate Programs (Edmonton): Searching the Education Literature

Education-focused Databases

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for education. Some full text. 1966-

The ERIC database includes two types of resources:

EJ (ERIC Journal) = Includes articles from peer reviewed journals and professional magazines.
ED (ERIC Documents) = Includes research reports, conference papers, handbooks, and other sources other than journal articles. Quality may vary.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Full text education journals and books. 1929-
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles about education, including several Canadian education journals. Some full text. 1988-

Searching Related Disciplines

Databases for other Disciplines
Your topic may also be addressed by other disciplines like psychology, sociology, or history. Consult the library subject guides to find the specialized databases for each discipline.

Searching Tips

Use the asterisk ( * ) to look for multiple spellings or variations of a word:

educat* finds educate, educating, education

Use quotation marks ( " " ) to search for 2 or more words as an exact phrase:

"differentiated instruction"

"high schools"

Advanced Searching for Education Research

This tutorial presents advanced strategies for searching the ERIC database for education research, including identifying relevant search terms, accessing full text, and saving citations.

Don't see a video? Try the direct link

Video transcript on separate page