Accessibility at Clark Library and Beyond

Many of the databases available for University of Portland Clark Library users follow the standards of 29 U.S.C. 794d (more commonly known as Section 508 of the US Rehabilitation Act) and/or use Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) as part of the accessibility verification process.

Please contact the Library (library@up.edu; 503-943-7111; https://library.up.edu/chat) if you have questions about any of the Library's resources.

• See a list of EBSCO databases

Newer PDFs in EBSCO are ADA compliant. EBSCO Publishing began providing its scanned PDFs with an Optical Character Reader (OCR) text layer in September 2004. PDFs uploaded prior to September 2004 may not be readable by a screen reader.

Information on searching EBSCO databases with JAWS. The instructions mainly relate to screen readers with some information for keyboard-only users.

Access read-aloud controls by selecting the Listen icon represented by a pair of headphones, and then the play icon. Text is highlighted during play. Select the Download mp3 icon to obtain an audio file.

For more information, see all of EBSCO's accessibility guides

• See a list of ProQuest databases

To have an article read aloud to you, select the Listen button below the article abstract.

A toolbar will appear on the right side of the screen, hovering over the Suggested sources list. You can select this toolbar and drag it to a preferred location. Text is not automatically highlighted during play.

Accessibility information for databases on the ProQuest platform, except for ProQuest Congressional.

See a list of Gale Databases

Gale databases provide a Listen function for full-text articles. This can be found on the detailed display screen, which can be accessed by clicking on the title of the article from the search results.   Articles may also be downloaded as an audio file in MP3. Not all Gale PDFs are ADA compliant. Articles

The read-aloud toolbar will be below the article title and citation information. Select the Listen button or the green play icon to start the audio. Text is highlighted during play. Select the three-line icon on the left to download an mp3 audio file.

Read the accessibility policy for the Gale platform.

JSTOR instructions for screen reader users:

Unless you filter your JSTOR search, your results list might include both journal articles and book chapters, each of which have a different tab order.

Journal article search results appear in this tab order:

• Check Box

• Article Title (which is a link)

• Author

• Download / Save / Cite options

Book chapter search results appear in this tab order:

• Check Box

• Chapter Title (which is a link)

• Author

• Book Title

• Publisher

• Download / Save / Cite options

To access the full text of items either choose Download within the results list, or select the item title and then choose Download.  If a PDF is not sufficiently tagged, JSTOR can manually tag PDFs. For more information see the JSTOR support for content accessibility page or the JSTOR Accessibility policies page.