This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content

Curriculum Involvement and Outcomes: Communication Studies

Explore the variety of University of Portland courses for which the Clark Library teaching librarians regularly provide instruction sessions.

CST 101 Library Outcomes

1. Students will be able to identify databases specific to Communication Studies.

2. Students will be able to choose search terms, to use a database's organizational structure to identify additional search terms, and to use a database's organizational structure to limit a search.

3. Students will be able to explain the characteristics of different types of communication literature, e.g. handbooks, journal articles, conference papers, dissertations.

4. Given a useful article, students will be able to find similar articles by using its reference list, or by locating articles that cite the original item.

CST 107 Library Outcomes

1. Students will be able to describe the publication process of advocacy web sites, newspaper articles, and journal articles.

2. Students will be able to evaluate the resources they find, taking into account the publication process.

3. Students will be able to identify interdisciplinary databases at UP.

4. Students will be able to explain how and why to cite sources effectively in a speech.

CST 225 Library Outcomes

1. Students will be able to identify relevant subject terms for their topic within databases specific to Communication Studies.

2. Students will be able to incorporate those subject terms into an effective search strategy.

3. Given a useful article, students will be able to find similar articles by using its reference list, or by locating articles that cite the original item.

 

Other classes that have had library instruction

CST 300/500:

1. Students will be able to choose relevant subject terms from a database thesaurus (ERIC descriptors, PsycINFO thesaurus, etc.)

2. Given a useful article, students will be able to find similar articles using its reference list, or by locating articles that cite the original item.

3. Students will be able to use PsycTESTS as a starting point for locating research instruments.

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798 | © 2017 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved