This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University of Portland Clark Library

Curriculum Involvement and Outcomes: Integrative Health and Wellness

Explore the variety of University of Portland courses for which the Clark Library teaching librarians regularly provide instruction sessions.

IHW 101 Library Outcomes

  • Students will be able to identify an Evidence Based Practice Model and understand its importance to health and wellness.
  • Students will be able to identify PICOT Components.
  • Students will be able to locate and identify databases in Health Sciences.
  • Students will be able to construct keyword searches and use Boolean operators.
  • Students will be able to locate the full text of an article.
  • Students will be able to identify the elements of an APA citation.

IHW 305 Library Outcomes

  • Students will be able to identify databases applicable for a specific question.
  • Students will be able to locate controlled vocabulary in general and specifically related to the population.
  • Students will be able to identify types of research within a database
  • Students will be able to identify publication types
  • Students will be able to identify the parts of a research article

IHW 312 Library Outcomes

  1. Students will be able to translate a PICOT question into search terms for use in searching.
  2. Students will be able to identify controlled vocabulary in both an article and database and understand its usefulness in searching.
  3. Students will be able to construct a keyword search in a database using the search terms they locate.
  4. Students will be able to apply limiters to a keyword search in a database.
  5. Students will be able to identify the highest level of evidence in their search results.

library@up.edu | 503.943.7111 or 800.841.8261 | 5000 N. Willamette Blvd., Portland, OR 97203-5798
© 2020 University of Portland, All Rights Reserved | Icons made by Freepik from www.flaticon.com